Musings

Where to begin?

In the three months since the start of my PhD I have found myself asking this question again and again… “Where to begin?”. “At the very beginning” replies my unhelpful inner dialogue – currently in the form of Julie Andrews it would appear.

Well yes, at the beginning would seem reasonable, but when it comes to starting up a whole new life the beginning seems increasingly hard to identify. Whether it was building a support network of new colleagues and friends, or working out what experiment is of the highest priority (all of them??!!) just getting some momentum seemed a massive challenge.

That said, I did manage to make a start, generally by making a rough plan and then doing the job in front of me. So here I am again, making a start on something completely new and as with so many things I expect to fumble the start and make a few wrong turns but that’s all part of the process right?

Stick to my aims and do the job in front of me (repeat ad nauseum).

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

